Clean Energy Efficiency Policy

Board of Directors

E4TheFuture’s leadership team comprises creative, influential, and dynamic thought leaders in public policy, technology, and environmental and legal affairs.

  • Mark Farber

    Mark Farber

    Farber is President and co-founder of Cedar Energy Investors, which finances solar power systems for commercial and nonprofit organizations.

    From 2007 to 2010, at PHOTON Consulting, he advised global solar companies and investors on solar markets and strategy. Prior to this he was a co-founder of Evergreen Solar, makers of crystalline silicon solar power products, where he served as President and CEO for almost a decade. Farber has also served in leadership positions of several state and national solar trade associations, including Chairman of the Solar Alliance, President of SEBANE, and a board member of the Solar Energy Industries Association. Before entering the solar energy business in 1988, Farber was a management consultant in the electric utility sector for 12 years. He was a member of the Conservation Services Board since 2004, has been on the E4TheFuture Board since its 2015 inception, and is also on the Board of Shift Energy LLC and Community Energy Inc. He holds degrees from Cornell University and the Sloan School of Management at MIT.
  • Mary Beth Gentleman

    Mary Beth Gentleman

    As partner with Foley Hoag LLP in Boston, Gentleman provided strategic regulatory and market advice to energy technology companies, renewable energy project developers and efficiency companies.

    She served as co-chair of the firm’s Energy & Cleantech Practice and provided regulatory and environmental compliance advice to major generating companies in New England. Prior to joining Foley Hoag, she served as Assistant Secretary of Energy in Massachusetts for six years. Gentleman served on the Board of the Northeast Energy and Commerce Association and as General Counsel of the New England Energy Alliance. She holds a master’s degree in public finance from the Isenberg School of Management at UMass/Amherst and law degree from Suffolk University. Gentleman was a member of the Conservation Services Group board since 2006 and served as board chair. She also now serves on the Board of Directors of FirstLight Power Inc.
  • Julia Fox Gorte

    Julie Fox Gorte

    Julie Fox Gorte is Senior Vice President for Sustainable Investing, Impax Asset Management LLC and Pax World Funds. She oversees environmental, social and governance-related research on prospective and current investments as well as the firm’s shareholder engagement and public policy advocacy. Gorte is also a member of the Impax Gender Analytics team.

    She joined E4TheFuture’s board in 2017 and also serves as board chair of the Sustainable Investment Institute and on the boards of the Endangered Species Coalition and Clean Production Action. In addition, she serves on the Investment Committee of the United Nations Environment Programme Finance Initiative. Earlier, Gorte served as Vice President and Chief Social Investment Strategist at Calvert Group. Her experience also includes nearly 14 years as Senior Associate and Project Director at the Congressional Office of Technology Assessment, Vice President for Economic and Environmental Research at The Wilderness Society, Program Manager for Technology Programs in the Environmental Protection Agency’s policy office and Senior Associate at the Northeast-Midwest Institute. Gorte earned her Bachelor of Science from Northern Arizona University and a Master of Science and Ph.D from Michigan State in resource economics.
  • David L. O’Connor

    O’Connor is Board Chair of E4TheFuture. He is the Founder and President of O’Connor Energy Consulting where he helps energy companies and non-profit organizations define and shape clean energy public policies. From 2008 through 2022 he was Senior Vice President for Energy & Clean Technology at ML Strategies, the government relations/business advisory affiliate of Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo, P.C.

    Previously, O’Connor served as the Massachusetts Commissioner of Energy Resources 1995-2007. While Commissioner, he led an historic transformation of the electricity marketplace to provide consumers with the ability to choose their electricity supplier choice and implemented inaugural standards for the use of renewable energy across the New England states. He was a member of the Massachusetts team that negotiated the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative (RGGI), the first-ever multistate agreement to limit carbon emissions from power plants. He also served on the state Energy Facilities Siting Board 1995-2007. Prior to his appointment as energy commissioner, O’Connor held leadership positions in the dispute resolution field, and was an adjunct professor of public policy at Tufts University. He currently serves as President of the Northeast Energy and Commerce Association. O’Connor holds degrees from Middlebury College and the Harvard Kennedy School.
  • Bradley Steele

    Bradley Steele

    Steele was a co-founder of Energy Federation Inc. (EFI), and served as its President and CEO from 1982 until his retirement in 2018. EFI distributed and manufactured energy efficient products, created and operated dozens of utility partner branded websites promoting sales of energy saving products to their customers, and managed hundreds of public and utility funded rebate programs that encouraged consumers and businesses to make investments in energy efficiency and renewable energy projects. He is treasurer of E4TheFuture’s board.

    Under his leadership, EFI grew to a 140-person company with annual revenues of $80 million. Steele was among contributors to 1988-90 regulatory proceedings leading to the adoption of least-cost planning, or integrated resource management, for electric utilities in New England. This Collaborative Approach process, and resulting program design, became the model for many demand-side management (DSM) programs implemented across the U.S. Early in his career Steele served as executive director of the People’s Energy Resources Cooperative, a non-profit that merged with two other non-profits to create Conservation Services Group where he served on the board of directors. He also served as board member for the Community Energy Partnership, the New England Energy Efficiency Council, and Affordable Comfort. Steele is a graduate of Harvard University.
  • Lynn Stein

    Lynn Stein

    Stein was Senior Advisor at E Source, a research and advisory firm that advises utilities and large energy users on technologies and strategies for energy efficiency and demand response programs, solar, marketing and segmentation, and customer experience.

    She provided strategic account management for E Source’s utility clients and direction to E Source services in efficiency, technology and the smart grid. Since 1994, Stein has worked on demand side management, demand response programs and technologies and energy information services. Prior to joining E Source, she designed and evaluated DSM programs for the utilities formerly known as New England Electric and Boston Edison. She holds an M.S. in Building Energy Engineering from the University of Colorado, a B.A. in Art History and a B.S. in Engineering from Swarthmore College. Stein joined the Conservation Services Group Board in 2014.

Learn more about E4:

  • Residential Energy Savings

    Mission & Strategy

  • Clean Energy Efficiency Policy

    Board of Directors

  • Residential Energy Efficiency Solutions


  • Renewable Energy Policy Advocacy

    History & Achievements